Triple Crown History

Elegant and distinctive, the Triple Crown trophy has come to represent the pinnacle achievement in horseracing. Commisioned in 1950 by the Thoroughbred Racing Association, artisans at the world-famous Cartier Jewelry Company were charged with creating more than a trophy, but a true work of art. The result was a three-sided vase, each face equally representing the three jewels of the crown, and beautifully capturing the spirit of horseracing's most sought after, and rarest, honor. Upon completion, retroactive trophies were presented to the first eight winners of the Triple Crown.

Today the Triple Crown is a permanent trophy awarded to the winner with information pertaining to each race engraved on corresponding sides. When not on tour during the live running of the royal trio of races, the trophy is on public display at the Kentucky Derby Museum in Louisville, Kentucky.

1919 Sir Barton
1930 Gallant Fox
1935 Omaha
1937 War Admiral
1941 Whirlaway
1943 Count Fleet
1946 Assault
1948 Citation
1973 Secretariat
1977 Seattle Slew
1978 Affirmed

From 1932 through 2011, twenty-one of the nation's best 3-year-olds won the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness Stakes but failed to win the Belmont Stakes and the elusive Triple Crown title.